August 28

The Marshmallow Tower Challenge!

Students were really competitive this week as they engaged in the engineering design process to build the tallest marshmallow tower in 18 minutes. I was so impressed with the camaraderie within the groups and the positive relationships among the peers. At the end of the challenge, we came together as a whole class and groups reflected on their teamwork. The groups discussed what went well and what they could have worked on to have a more successful tower. Teams, including the kindergartners, all agreed that the best part of the challenge was working together and even if they lost the challenge, they still had fun. Goal accomplished!!! Do you want to know which grade level was the best at building the marshmallow tower? Check out this Ted Talk on the purpose of building the marshmallow tower.

imageimage image image image image

image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image image imageimage image image image image image

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Posted August 28, 2016 by TeamGrizzle2006 in category Uncategorized

About the Author

I am the K-5 STEM lab instructor at Harmony Leland ES who is seeking innovative ways to transform my school on a global scale in this technologically-driven society. After ten years of teaching, every year feels like my first year of teaching as I am excited, motivated, and driven by my students to deliver the very best classroom instruction I possibly can. I LOVE my career, but most importantly, I LOVE my students!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*